Annual Meeting & Awards Banquet

Congrats Award Winners | Event Fees | Awards Task Force

Join ESSAE members, colleagues, and friends on Thursday, February 6, 2020 for our annual gala to celebrate the best of the best in the association community, celebrate the achievements of ESSAE in advancing and protecting the work of associations and association professionals across New York State, and the individuals who help make the association industry in New York a success.  

This special event provides us with the opportunity to showcase and acknowledge the great work accomplished by our industry colleagues, thank our 2019 volunteer leadership, welcome the 2020 Board of Directors, highlight the Society's accomplishments, and hear more about future initiatives. 

Thursday, February 6, 2020
Hilton Albany
40 Lodge Street | Albany, NY


Cocktail Reception - 5:30 PM to 6:30 PM
Dinner, Board Installation & Awards Ceremony - 6:30 to 8:30 PM

Overnight accommodations
Booking Link:


Host - Hilton Albany
Decor - Total Events
Audio/Visual - CMI AV
Video Production - Akullian Creative
Evening Experience Enhancers: Turning Stone Resort
Champagne Toast - Albany Capital Center
Printed Program - Lane Press of Albany
Industry Awards - The Desmond Hotel Albany
Board Recognition - Visit Buffalo Niagara
Dessert - The Sagamore Resort
Coat Check - Visit Rochester

Download the 2020 Partnership Package!

Congratulations Award Recipients!

The ESSAE Awards Committee has met and determined the 2019 Award Recipients. Please join ESSAE on Thursday, February 6, 2020 to celebrate and congratulate the following individuals and associations:

George Burton Award
Jim Calvin
New York Association of Convenience Stores

Distinguished Member of the Year
Kathy Gormley, CMP
Director of Conference Management
LeadingAge New York

Associate Member of the Year
Mary Jo Janis
Vice President/Convention Sales and Services 
Discover Saratoga

Rising Star
Ashley Ranslow
New York State Assistant Director
National Federation of Independent Business

Volunteer of the Year
Donna Denley, CAE
Director of Finance
NYS Academy of Family Physicians

Association Excellence for Government Relations
New York Association of Convenience Stores

Association Excellence for Meetings & Expositions 
American Council of Engineering Companies of New York

Association Excellence for Professional Development
American Institute of Architects New York State


Chair:  Aurelia Lazzari, Sales Manager, Desmond Hotel Albany
Vice Chair: Kim Hodge, National Sales Manager, Sagamore Resort

Jennifer Bruce, CMP, Association & Meeting Management Consultant, CCi Consulting
Amber Carpenter, Managing Director, NYSAPLS, Inc.
Debby Goedeke, Convention Services Manager & Albany Film Commissioner, Discover Albany
Darryl Leggieri, President, Discover Saratoga
Shannon Licygiewicz, CEM, Director of Sales, Albany Capital Center
Linda Persico, CMP, Retired
Jack Roddy, Director of Sales, Desmond Hotel Albany
Patricia Wood, Retired

Past award their own words

Deborah A. Goedeke 
Convention Services Manager | Albany Film Commissioner
Discover Albany
Associate (Supplier) Member of the Year - 2017

To be an award recipient for Supplier of the Year, and be nominated by so many of my association peers, was extremely special to me.  If you read the Award Description it recognizes outstanding professionalism and exemplary service to our industry. 

Knowing our peers saw those traits in what we do every day, made me stand a little taller and work a little harder for everyone.  No industry can thrive without a strong support base of responsive, quality suppliers and I believe all ESSAE suppliers are just that.

As a member of this year’s Awards Task Force, I hope you will consider nominating an individual you interact with for Supplier of the Year that has displayed those traits when working with you, it truly will make a difference in their life!

Event Fees 

Event Fees
Single Ticket: $85 Members; $125 Non-Members
Table of 8: $650 Members; $975 Non-Members

Event registration includes cocktail reception hour, plated dinner, wine service, dessert, champagne toast, awards ceremony, board installation, and coat check. Full cash bar available during dinner. 

Cancellation Policy
Registrations must be made and paid for by Friday, January 31, 2020. Registration cancellations received prior to the deadline may be eligible to receive a refund less $25 service fee.  Cancellations received after the stated deadline will not be eligible for a refund. Refunds will not be available for registrants who choose not to attend an event (no-shows). Cancellations will be accepted in writing only and must be received by the stated cancellation deadline. All refund requests must be made by the attendee or credit card holder. Refunds will be credited back to the original credit card used for payment. If you are unable to attend, you may send an alternate to the event without additional charge.

Questions? Call 518-463-1755 or [email protected]